World Bank Civil Society Working Session

cafaro-quote-v2.jpgOn Wednesday, April 15, at 4:00 pm EDT, we will bring the Pathway to Paris project to the Spring 2015 Civil Society Policy Forum. Pathway to Paris is an effort led by Citizens' Climate Lobby to build a working coalition of partners, across civil society and across the world, to collaborate in the work of bringing citizens' and stakeholders' voices directly into the climate policy process, and to coordinate a strategy for raising policy ambitions inside the COP21 meetings in Paris.

Please click on the image to the right, for the online worksheet where you can enter your contribution to the Pathway to Paris work streams, from this session. 

The event will feature participation from: 

- Dr. Saleemul Huq, IIED, Senior Fellow
- Susanna Cafaro: Università del Salento Associate professor and Group of Lecce founding member
- Sarabeth Brockley: UN-DESA, Adopt a Negotiator
- James Parks: The Parksonian Institute, Founder and CEO
- (Session Chair) Joe Robertson: Citizens' Climate Lobby, Global Strategy Director

Working Session start times

- San Diego 1:00 pm; New York 4:00 pm
- London 9:00 pm; Paris 10:00 pm
- Abu Dhabi 11:59 pm; Dhaka 2:00 am (Apr 16)
- Sydney 6:00 am (Apr 16); Auckland 8:00 am (Apr 16)

To join this event live online:

- Go to WorldBankGroup.webex.com
- Enter Meeting number: 734 310 188
- Enter Meeting password: DfHMhqm3

To join by phone:

- Dial: +1–650–479–3207
- Use Access code: 734 310 188
- OR Global call-in numbers

Our standard Fuze option will be available for those who want to listen in, but direct participation will not happen through Fuze, and the sound and video quality will be stronger using the above information. To use Fuze... download the free Fuze software, dial by phone or view in your browser.

- Fuze Meeting ID: 27660722
- Join by phone: +1-201-479-4595 (enter Meeting ID when prompted)
- URL: http://fuze.me/27660722 (view/listen only)

This effort flows directly from our past contributions to the Civil Society Policy Forum, as we released a draft of our Global Strategy Whitepaper in a highly productive seminar during the Spring 2014 Civil Society Forum, a document which we officially released on Sept. 23, 2014, the day of the UN Climate Summit, during an event in New York City. We detailed the newly launched Pathway to Paris project at the Fall 2014 CSF, and brought the core messages of the project—economy-building carbon pricing and direct citizen engagement—to the Civil Society Town Hall, where both Mme. Christine Lagarde and Dr. Jim Yong Kim committed to more direct engagement, and to promoting carbon pricing as a catalyst for other fiscal and development priorities.

Our Working Sessions are not merely the gathering of opinion and feedback or the symbolic representation of citizens' voices; they are actual working sessions where participants go to work on language and priorities to feed into a Paris Priorities Matrix, which will allow us to design and execute a ground-up, community-driven coordinating strategy for more ambitious policy outcomes in Paris. We will be working with a range of partners, to share in the hosting of this Working Session and in driving the policy focus in the room.

Participants will join a growing global network of collaborators, ranging from individual citizens, to students and activists, to policy experts and even public officials, who will act as peers in a policy-design process aimed at 1) educating all involved, through the sharing of varied, competing, established and fresh perspectives, 2) building political will and coordination, and 3) achieving an effective policy outcome at the 21st Conference of the Parties to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change in Paris, in December 2015.

The Pathway to Paris and its Direct Engagement Working Sessions are also part of the building of an enduring Citizens' Climate Engagement Network (CCEN), which will facilitate direct citizen engagement in the climate policy process, with standing to deliberate, negotiate, and actively plan climate, energy, economic and development priorities, as relevant to that venue. We aim to see the CCEN recognized as an integral part of the international policy process, going forward, and will be asking participants in our Working Session at the Spring 2015 CSF to collaborate in facilitating that outcome.

WHEN
April 15, 2015 at 4pm - 5:30pm
WHERE
World Bank, I Building
Washington, DC
United States
Google map and directions
CONTACT
Joseph Robertson
8 RSVPS

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?


Showing 4 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.